Weekend to Remember #Familylifewtr

Have you ever gone to a Family Life Weekend to Remember? If you have never been or it’s been awhile, we recommend you go. I think this is our third or fourth time although we also have gone to many other retreats and conferences in our 42 years of marriage.

Everyone needs a “tune up” on their relationship whether just starting out or if they’ve been at it awhile.

There are principles that affect relationships that are universal. Communication always can be improved. Learning to ask clarifying question is a skill I’m often working on. I’ve been reminded on more than one occasion that we just think we are speaking the same language. I’ve found “what did you hear me say?” A very helpfully question to ask that can help defuse a potentially volatile argument before things explode and feelings are hurt. The “argument” can simmer down to a “discussion” that resolves and clarifies information and emotions.

I’ve found that there are significant people in my life who hear things better when someone else tells them the same information that I already told them. I don’t really understand why that is and sometimes this has hurt my feelings. Over the years I’ve found it is best to keep short accounts and forgive quickly the way God forgives me.

https://www.familylife.com/

Q and A with the speakers for this event. Speakers change for each session so you hear different stories and experiences.

Comments

Leave a comment